12
Aug
10

What people are saying about the Kindle ebook reader

Reviews from people that have purchased a Kindle

1)

Absolutely love my Kindle

I debated which ebook reader to purchase for several months. I looked at many different brands in the stores, but none of them were working when I would try them. When I saw that Amazon had dropped the price of Kindle 1 and Audible was giving a $100 discount, I couldn’t resist anymore. I had already been using my laptop to read Kindle books so the transition to the Kindle was awesome. I could put it into my purse and read where ever I found myself waiting in line or for an appointment. The only complaint I have with my Kindle is that I happen to live in one of those spotty areas that only gets Whispernet occassionally. Due to this, I have to wait to download books until I go to town for something. Other than that, I do love my Kindle. I have found that book reading lights work fine with my Kindle. I do wish that it could be password protected so that not just anyone could pick up my Kindle and read – help with the theft issue.

2)

Like previous Kindle owners have posted, I find I am reading a lot more; and the simplicity of the Kindle is awesome. I have to say, I love this little thing. I thought it would have to grow on me, but I take it wherever I go now!

However, I still have printed books I have to read, but I wish there was some type of exchange program. I can’t imagine getting rid of hard print books completely. Maybe I can sell or trade some of the books I want to get rid of or have read already. I’ve read many good suggestions in the Kindle forum about this dilemma. The Kindle does help me to be more “green”,and I love that! I’m on a “simplicity” life conversion and going to the Kindle has been a great decision for me.

I am definitely a Bibliophile turned into “Kindler”. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

In a few years I’ll upgrade to the DX version for my travel sabbatical. I no longer have to worry about how I’ll indulge my favorite past time while on the road.

3)

Well, I’ve had my Kindle for a couple of months now, and I have to say that I really love it. It’s not perfect, but it’s more than I had hoped it would be.
Good Points: I enjoy having the instant dictionary. Now I look up words instead of assuming the meaning from the context. The anytime, anywhere access to the Store is great. I was in Australia recently, and found I was almost finished with the book I was reading (Hey! It’s a long, long flight!)I looked up the author in the Kindle Store and downloaded another one of his books in a minute. Books are expensive in Australia. So is internet access. I saved $15 on that transaction alone, and didn’t have to pay for internet access.
Bad Points: I feel I’m reading faster, perhaps too fast. Maybe it’s my internal gadget fiend expressing himself by clicking the button. Also, the simple internet browser doesn’t have a home page after its first use. The home page had a list of useful websites, but once you access one, you can’t return to the list. Final gripe: many of the books I love aren’t available (yet).
Overall, though, it’s great. It combines my love of reading with my love of gadgets. My wife and kids say I’m addicted. I don’t know about that, but I certainly enjoy it.

Check out more reviews about Kindle paperwhite


0 Responses to “What people are saying about the Kindle ebook reader”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

